Today’s book review features

Engaging Deception by Regina Jennings.

Book Blurb

Olive Kentworth has spent her life hiding her interest in architecture, even though she pores over architectural books and sketches buildings. When she accepts a job on a home expansion, it’s only because her cousin Amos agrees to pose as the builder. To further hide her involvement, Olive takes a position as a nanny–not knowing that she’ll be working for her idol, Joplin’s leading architect, widower Maxfield Scott.

Maxfield is intrigued by his new nanny–she makes his home and his life bearable again. His work, on the other hand, is a disaster. An untrained builder is remodeling a completed project of his. What’s worse, Maxfield’s current client wants changes to his plans because of that builder’s work.

As the architectural one-upmanship heats up, Olive’s involvement becomes harder to hide. Will the relationship between her and Maxfield survive, or will they both miss out on building something for their future?

From Goodreads

Author Information

Discover more about Regina Jennings at:

Danielle’s Review

I received a complimentary copy of this book from JustRead Tours and Bethany House Publishers.
I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC guidelines.

Engaging Deception, by Regina Jennings, is book three in her Joplin Chronicles series from Bethany House.

I always liked Oliva in the previous stories, but this book took me by surprise with how much I loved her character. She was spunky in such an understated way. The humor she—and her family—brought to the story was wonderful. And her battle with herself over standing by her name as an architect was one with which I could relate.

Maxfield was more difficult to put a finger on, but that was exactly his struggle. Who was he after the death of his wife? His inner struggles showed so much. And his children were adorable.

If you’re looking for a fun read, that also wrestles with deep inner conflict, then definitely grab a copy of Engaging Deception. You don’t have to read the previous three or four books (the novella that kicked off the series is about Willow, Oliva’s sister), but they are all delightful, so I recommend them.

Retail Links

*as an Amazon Affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases