Counterfeit Love

Books Review, Christian Fiction, First Line Friday, Historical Fiction, Kregel Publications, Novels, Writing Spot

Welcome to First Line Friday!
Today I’m featuring

Counterfeit Love by Crystal Caudill.

Can this undercover agent save the woman he loves–or is her heart as counterfeit as the money he’s been sent to track down?

After all that Grandfather has sacrificed to raise her, Theresa Plane owes it to him to save the family name–and that means clearing their debt with creditors before she marries Edward Greystone. But when one of the creditors’ threats leads her to stumble across a midnight meeting, she discovers that the money he owes isn’t all Grandfather was hiding. And the secrets he kept have now trapped Theresa in a life-threatening fight for her home–and the truth.

After months of undercover work, Secret Service operative Broderick Cosgrove is finally about to uncover the identity of the leader of a notorious counterfeiting ring. That moment of triumph turns to horror, however, when he finds undeniable proof that his former fiancée is connected. Can he really believe the woman he loved is a willing participant? Protecting Theresa and proving her innocence may destroy his career–but that’s better than failing her twice in one lifetime.

They must form a partnership, tentative though it is. But there’s no question they’re both still keeping secrets–and that lack of trust, along with the dangerous criminals out for their blood, threatens their hearts, their faith, and their very survival.

Combining rich history, danger, suspense, and romance, Crystal Caudill’s debut novel launches this new historical series with a bang. Fans of Elizabeth Camden, Michelle Griep, and Joanna Davidson Politano will be thrilled to find another author to follow!

From Goodreads

Author Information

Discover more information about Crystal Caudill at: crystalcaudill.com.

First Line

[Graphic Text]: December 31, 1883 ~ “I don’t understand why we can’t marry sooner.”

My Review

Counterfeit Love is the first book in Crystal Caudill’s Hidden Hearts of the Gilded Age series.

My favorite type of novel is a historical romance with plenty of suspense. Counterfeit Love is exactly that type of story. An undercover Secret Service agent, a counterfeit ring, an unsuspecting, but certainly not naive, woman caught in between. It’s the perfect mix!

Counterfeit Love is an enjoyable story that keeps the pages turning and the questions multiplying. Who was the bad guy? Would they survive all the trouble? Would Teresa and Broderick get a happily ever after? I was so caught up in the story, I see a reread in my future so I can slow down and appreciate all the historical details included in the book.

If you’re looking for a book filled with action and sassy characters, this book is for you!


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC guidelines.

Retail Links

Amazon | BN.com | Indiebound
Goodreads | BookBub

Now it’s your turn.
Pull out the book beside you and leave a comment with the first line.

First Line Friday is hosted by Reading is my Super Power.


14 thoughts on “Counterfeit Love

  1. This sounds really intriguing! Right now I’m reading Willow by Ronie Kendig: “Think hard because I’ve seen ops like this destroy the best of men.” Have a great weekend!

  2. I said the same thing to my husband. LOL!

    Happy Friday!
    I’m currently reading Blind Date with a Billionaire Reality Star by Evangeline Kelly. It’s super good!
    “I wasn’t sure if they were his actual favorite or not, but it thrilled me that Abby and I would have two hours with him on a sunset boat ride. The thought was absolutely heavenly.”
    I hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  3. My first lines come from Fatal Code by Natalie Walters which comes out next month. :
    Maple Valley, Iowa
    “Death has no sting.”
    He studied the pastor speaking from the stage, a giant cross hanging behind him and smirked. Depends on how you kill someone.

    Counterfeit Love was a very good book. I’m looking forward to reading the next one in the series!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.