Book Review | The Debutante’s Code

Books Review, Christian Fiction, Historical Fiction, Kregel Publications, Mystery, Novels, Regency, Writing Spot

Today’s book review features

The Debutante’s Code by Erica Vetsch.

Book Blurb

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series

Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn’t spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love. But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They’ve been living double lives as government spies–and they’re only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family’s legacy.

Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spy craft. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors–not to mention nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner Daniel Swann, who suspects her of a daring theft.

Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents’ last mission? Or will it lead her to a terrible end?

Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance.

From Goodreads

Author Information

Best-selling, award-winning author Erica Vetsch loves Jesus, history, romance, and sports. She’s a transplanted Kansan now living in Minnesota, and she married her total opposite and soul mate! When she’s not writing fiction, she’s planning her next trip to a history museum and cheering on her Kansas Jayhawks and New Zealand All Blacks. You can connect with her at her website, www.ericavetsch.com where you can read about her books and sign up for her newsletter, and you can find her online at https://www.facebook.com/EricaVetschAuthor/ where she spends way too much time!

From Author Website

Danielle’s Review

A historical mystery? Yes, please! As soon as I read the description for Erica Vetsch’s latest book The Debutante’s Code, the first book in her new Thorndike and Swann Regency mystery series, I knew it would be one I would enjoy. And I did!

The Debutante’s Code is more of a cozy mystery, which I love, with a slowly built romance. The mystery has many twists and turns, plus the spy angle that adds the perfect touch. I loved the romance and can’t wait to see it develop in the next book. Especially now that Daniel knows Juliette’s history.

Those who loved Erica Vetsch’s The Gentleman Spy (like me!) will especially enjoy this book. And with the promise of more mysteries to come, I’m very excited to see where the series goes from here.


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC guidelines.

Retail Links

Amazon | BN.com | Indiebound
Goodreads | Bookbub

Blog Tour Giveaway


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *